Twelve Days of Christmas Folklore & History: The Fourth Day

On the fourth day of my Christmas holidays my employer gave to me…4 popping crackers at a party.

In 1847 Tom smith invented the Christmas Cracker, intending for them to be an evolution of his already popular bon-bon sweet. However, after hearing the crackle of a log, he put on the fire, Smith was inspired to make the paper cracker go off with a bang! The sweet inside was eventually replaced with a toy or present.

A memorial fountain was erected in honor of Tom Smith and his family in Finsbury Square, London.

And interesting fact about Christmas Crackers in the present, they’re explicitly prohibited from being brought on any commercial flights in and to the United States. Britain is apparently a little more lenient, and it depends on what airline you use.

If you’ve enjoyed this Christmas Folklore / tradition titbit, why not Follow the Wee blog if you haven’t already. And remember to check me out on Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Goodreads, Tumblr, TikTok, Kofi and Facebook. Until Next time Wee Readers, have a very bonny day and a very merry Holiday season. Remember to sign up to the Wee Mailing List to receive the final days of the Blog series.

3 thoughts on “Twelve Days of Christmas Folklore & History: The Fourth Day

  1. These are so much fun Muse, I’m having a grand time. I’ve seen those poppers many times before, but never actually popped one. I do kinda get the airline thing in my country of the US, especially with 9/11, though I also wonder if it’s possible to make accommodations as these Christmas Crackers weren’t meant to be dangerous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment