The 8 1/2 Overly Pretentious Questions for Ailish Sinclair : The First Question.

What Ho wee readers and welcome to the first of my blog series to feature the collaboration of Ailish Sinclair. If you’re familiar with the formula already you should know this week I’ll be releasing a blog post a day – each one taking the form, as the title might suggest, of a question . An overly pretentious question. Which hopefully Ailish will oblige me by answering – remember to sign up for the wee blog if you haven’t already to find out. And also, don’t forget to sign up for the Wee Mailing List to find out what the Eighth question might be.

So Ailish, your first three books – The Mermaid and the Bear, Fireflies and Chocolate, and Sisters at the Edge of the World – were all Historical Romances. But your new books – the Dancer Series – are strictly contemporary in nature, tell me was this a big change for you as a writer?

Well, there was no need for years of research, especially as I have a dance background and the castle was fully formed in my mind from the previous books. It was actually a fun change to write the modern world. The characters have phones and watch TV. They go to Chinese restaurants and walk through present-day London. The castle has a swimming pool and a theatre and dance studios.

Though, essentially, at their core, relationships and love are the same throughout time. Misunderstandings happen. People behave badly or well. They fall in love. They try to make it work. They worry that it won’t. These things remain. They are timeless. And I love writing them.

Wow! I mean I did already know she had a dance background, but that was a really good reply.

If you’ve enjoyed this small glimpse into the next publication of my good friend Ailish Sinclair why not check out her blog here, along with her Twitter, Instagram, Mastodon, Threads, Pinterest, Tumblr, TikTok, Goodreads, Facebook , YouTube, and Kofi. If you’ve enjoyed this very mildly pretentious question of mine, follow the wee blog if you haven’t already, and don’t forget to check me out on Twitter, Instagram, Mastodon, Threads, Pinterest, Tumblr, TikTok, Goodreads, YouTube, Facebook and Kofi.

Instead of my usual closing remarks I shall leave you with these words…

Tendu is out now, buy your copy today.